Access 60+ databases
Some of our databases have mobile apps!
Get access to accurate information not easily found on the Internet for your research project. Please note, you will need your Library card to use them remotely from home.
Academic OneFile
A collection of full-text articles with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and other subjects. Try our tutorial to help you use Academic OneFile.
Ancestry Library Edition
The online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
Try our tutorial to help you use Ancestry Library Edition.
Library Access
Remote Access is not available
Auto Repair Source
Repair information and schedules, diagrams, parts and labor estimates, service alerts, and recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.
Biography In Context
This resource combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands of images, and links to websites.
Biography Reference Source
More than 390,000 biographies. Includes complete full text run of Biography Today and
Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
Boundless
Locate and access eRead Illinois eBooks directly from the Boundless app. Check out and read EPUB and PDF eBooks with ease using your library card. You can download it in the Apple app store or the Google Play store. Try our tutorial for using Boundless!
Gale Business: Insights
Gale Business: Insights is a unique source for international business intelligence, offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Business Source Elite
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics
journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting,
banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Check Illinois
Find Illinois home sales, business licenses, foreclosure, and bankruptcy records. Perform background checks.
Chicago Consumers’ Checkbook
This resource evaluates the quality and prices of local service firms and stores, such as auto repair shops, plumbers, dentists, banks, and insurance companies.
Chicago Community News Coverage
Daily Herald (1995-present), Park Ridge Journal (2010-present), and Park Ridge Herald-Advocate (1995-present) full-text articles.
Chicago Sun-Times Collection (1986 – present)
Explore Chicago history through local news, events, and people with the Chicago Sun-Times Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online.
Chicago Tribune (1985 – present)
Full text of the newspaper from 1985 – present.
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849 – 1999)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1849-1999. The collection provides access to every page from every available issue.
Consumer Reports
Expert product reviews and product ratings including Cars Best Deals Plus. Try our tutorial to help you navigate Consumer Reports!
Creativebug
1000+ online art and crafts classes with expert step-by-step instructions plus patterns, templates, and recipes from Joann Fabrics. These tutorials are perfect for crafters of all skill levels, and are accessible at home, at the library, or on the go. Try our tutorial to get started!
Daily Herald (1995-present)
Find information on the Chicago area and national news coverage for business, education, government, politics, sports, and more. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
ERIC
Journal articles and reports in education. Part of OCLC FirstSearch.
Library Access
Remote Access is not available
Flipster
A digital magazine service where you’ll find popular magazines you can read on a computer or a device with an Internet connection and your Park Ridge Public Library card. Try our tutorial to help you use Flipster!
Gale Directory Library
Contains a variety of electronic versions of print directories with company information, directories in print, and consultants.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Thousands of full-text reference sources including arts, biography, business, history, literature, medicine, and more. Try our tutorial to help you use Gale eBooks.
HeritageHub (Formerly America’s Obituaries & Death Notices)
A library resource to help genealogists and family historians explore and learn more about their lineage. HeritageHub provides comprehensive coverage of obituaries and death notices from 1704 through today. Manually indexed obituaries enhance search accuracy for deeper family connections. Coverage from all 50 U.S. states and territories.
Heritage Quest
Census records, family and local histories, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), and more. Try our tutorial to help you get started.
Hoopla Digital Music and Movies
Borrow free digital movies, TV shows, ebooks, audiobooks, comic books and music with your Park Ridge library card. Ten checkouts are allowed per card per month. Visit the Hoopla site to sign up and browse the collection. Try our tutorial to help you use Hoopla.
Illinois Legal Forms
Thousands of legal forms for Illinois, with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Business, Personal, Real Estate, and General forms cover hundreds of legal subjects and issues. Try our tutorial to help you use Illinois Legal Forms!
Kanopy
The Kanopy collection offers a broad selection of more than 30,000 feature films, documentaries, foreign language, and training videos, including the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, the Frontline series, and international films. Verify you are a library patron by entering your library card number when creating an account and films can be watched from anywhere, anytime, on smartphones, tablets, PCs, and smart TVs. You can watch 8 videos per month! Try our tutorial to help you get started!
LearningExpress Library Complete
Supports those looking to improve core academic skills, update their computer skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, explore careers, join the military, study for occupational certification tests, become a U.S. citizen and much more. Contains practice tests, interactive tutorials, e-books, articles, and flashcards. A tutorial is available.
Legal Information Source
Thousands of legal forms by topic, including Bankruptcy, Divorce, Name Changes, Wills & Estate Planning, and more. Most of the full-text legal reference books are provided through NOLO.
LinkedIn Learning
Video tutorials on software, web design, business/management skills, financial literacy, job/career skills, social networking, etc. Includes Microsoft Office, Windows, and Mac OS. (This database uses your online catalog password. Any questions, please contact Reference Staff. ) Mobile apps and a tutorial are available.
Lote4Kids
LOTE Online for Kids has over 1350+ digital picture books in 45+ languages, with new books and languages released each month. Library Access coming soon; use your library card number to access this remotely.
Mango Languages
Offers language learning in Spanish, French, German, Greek, Brazilian Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, and Russian. There are also ESL courses for Spanish, Polish, and Brazilian Portuguese speakers. Try our tutorial to help you get started!
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Online financial information for stocks, funds, and much more! Try our tutorial to help you get started!
Historical New York Times (1851-2017)
Digitized cover to cover from 1851-2017. The collection includes access to every page from every available issue.
Novelist Plus
Database that can help you search through over 100,000 fiction titles to find books that you would like to read. Try our tutorial to help you use Novelist Plus.
Novelist K-8 Plus
Database that has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for kids in grades K-8. Use it to find just the right books for every reader.
OCLC World Discovery Services
Over a dozen databases including WorldCat, ERIC, and MEDLINE provided by the Illinois State Library.
Library Access
Remote Access is not available
Overdrive/Libby
Hundreds of digital books, audiobooks, digital videos, and now magazines to download and enjoy anytime, anywhere. Try our tutorial to help you use Overdrive. There’s a new even easier app called Libby available now! You can download it here for Apple, Android, and Windows devices!
Digitized Park Ridge Newspapers
Full text, including advertisements and classified ads, fully searchable Park Ridge newspapers. Coverage: full run from 1929-1935 and 1937-2023 of the Park Ridge Advocate, Park Ridge Herald, and Park Ridge Herald Advocate, including scraps of the Park Ridge Herald from 1889-1923. Generously provided by the Harold E. Schefdore Gift Fund.
Library Access
Remote Access is not available
Park Ridge Herald-Advocate (1995-current)
Find information on community issues and events, education, government, local sports and more
Park Ridge Journal (2010-current)
Find information on community issues and events, education, government, local sports and more
Park Ridge Public Library Academy
Tutorials to help you use some of our most popular resources like Overdrive, Reference Solutions and Kanopy!
PressReader
Read hundreds of newspapers and magazines from across the U.S. and in foreign languages from around the world. Try our tutorial to help you use PressReader.
Proquest Newsstream
Search for full text-articles in hundreds of newspapers and periodicals, including national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron’s, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
Public Records Online
Public records of new homeowners, new business licenses, foreclosures, and bankruptcies in Cook County and the surrounding area.
Reference Solutions by Data Axle (formerly Reference USA)
This database contains detailed information on U.S. businesses, U.S. residents, U.S. health care providers, Canadian businesses, and Canadian households. Try our tutorial to help you use Reference Solutions.
Teachables
Scholastic Teachables offers teaching resources for every subject such as lesson plans, mini-books and activity sheets to help educators and families plan for the school year. Ideal for teachers, homeschool families, and anyone looking for enrichment for the young learners in their lives. Teachables content extends from Pre-K to 6th grade.
Tutor.com
Live one-to-one homework help from tutors is available 3 p.m. – 10 p.m or use the Skills Center 24/7. Try our tutorial to help you get started with Tutor.com!
Value Line
Online investment research service including stocks and mutual funds. [Limited to 3 simultaneous users. Please log off when finished!] Note: If you get an error message, try refreshing the browser. May not be accessible through the Safari browser. Try our tutorial to help you get started with Value Line!
World Book Kids
A more colorful version of the online multimedia version of the popular print encyclopedia for children.
World Book Online
The online multimedia version of the popular print encyclopedia for adults and children. Try our tutorial to get started with World Book!
World Book Timelines
Timelines offers hundreds of pre-generate timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch, adding events, descriptions, and media.
WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide with millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Part of OCLC FirstSearch.
